Search this website:

This web page location:

home page  >   Caribbean  >   Caribbean Literature  >   20th-century Writing

Caribbean Literature

20th-century Writing

Deeper web pages:

>  Early 20th Century

>  The End of Colonial Rule

>  After Independence

Few Caribbean countries gained their independence before the 20th century; for this reason, the development of distinct, national literary traditions began in the 20th century. Caribbean literature of the 20th century can be roughly divided into three periods: the first 30 years, during colonial rule; the years just prior to independence, from about 1940 to 1960 or later, depending on the country; and the period after independence.

Search this website: