Search this website:

This web page location:

home page  >   Caribbean  >   Grenada  >   Government



Grenada is an independent state within the Commonwealth of Nations. Grenada recognizes the British monarch as its own monarch and head of state. The monarch is represented by a governor-general. Grenada has a parliamentary system of government and a written constitution that was adopted in 1973. The constitution was suspended and the parliament dissolved after a coup d’etat in 1979. Following a second coup and the United States-led military intervention in 1983, an Interim Advisory Council ruled Grenada until the constitution and parliamentary government were restored in December 1984.

Grenada’s parliament consists of an elected 15-member House of Representatives and a 13-member Senate appointed by the governor-general. The leader of the majority party in the House of Representatives is appointed prime minister by the governor-general. The prime minister wields executive authority. The cabinet is appointed by the governor-general on the recommendation of the prime minister. The main political parties in Grenada are the conservative New National Party (NNP), the liberal National Democratic Congress (NDC), and the right-wing Grenada United Labour Party (GULP).

Grenada is a member of the Organization of American States and the United Nations. From 1958 to 1962, it was a member of the West Indies Federation, and in the early 1960s it participated in unsuccessful attempts to form a federation linking the Leeward Islands and Windward Islands. Grenada is tied with other Caribbean countries through membership in the Caribbean Community and Common Market (CARICOM).

Search this website: