Search this website:

This web page location:

home page  >   Caribbean  >   Saint Kitts and Nevis  >   Government

Saint Kitts and Nevis


SKNLP, popular vote, NRP, National Assembly, Concerned Citizens

Under the 1983 constitution, the Federation of Saint Kitts and Nevis recognizes the British monarch as its own monarch and head of state. The monarch is represented in the islands by a governor-general. The head of government is the prime minister, who must command a majority of the single-chamber legislature, the National Assembly.

The National Assembly has 15 members, 11 of whom are elected by popular vote for terms of up to five years. Three members represent Nevis constituencies, and eight represent Saint Kitts. Of the four nonelected members, one is the speaker of the Assembly and the other three, known as senators, are appointed—two on the advice of the prime minister and one on the advice of the leader of the opposition. Nevis also has its own assembly and the right to secede from Saint Kitts.

The main political parties are the St. Kitts and Nevis Labour Party (SKNLP), the People’s Action Movement (PAM), the Nevis Reformation Party (NRP), and the Concerned Citizens’ Movement (CCM).

Article key phrases:

SKNLP, popular vote, NRP, National Assembly, Concerned Citizens, governor-general, head of government, head of state, PAM, senators, opposition, Saint Kitts, People, prime minister, constitution, Nevis, speaker, leader, advice, islands, majority, Kitts, years, terms

Search this website: