Search this website:

This web page location:

home page  >   Oceania  >   Micronesia (FSM)


Micronesia (FSM)

Deeper web pages:

>  Land and Resources

>  People

>  Economy

>  Government

>  History

Federated States of Micronesia, self-governing island country in free association with the United States, located in the western Pacific Ocean, forming, with the Republic of Palau, the Caroline Islands. The Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) includes four states. From east to west they are Kosrae, Pohnpei (formerly Ponape), Chuuk (formerly Truk), and Yap. The FSM is north of the equator, located more than 4,000 km (2,500 mi) southwest of Honolulu, Hawaii. Palikir, on Pohnpei Island, is the capital. The largest town is Kolonia, also on Pohnpei. The FSM, along with Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, the Marshall Islands, Kiribati, and Nauru, is part of Micronesia, one of the three major divisions of Oceania.


Kiste, Robert C., B.A., Ph.D. Professor of Hawaiian, Asian, and Pacific Studies and Director of the Center for Pacific Island Studies, University of Hawaii. Co- editor of Tides of History: The Pacific Islands in the Twentieth Century.

Microsoft Encarta 2009. 1993-2008 Microsoft Corporation.

Search this website: