Search within this web site:

you are here ::

Africa, Comoros

Mwali, Grande Comore, Anjouan, Mahore, Moheli

Comoros, independent state comprising a group of islands in the Indian Ocean. Located at the northern end of the Mozambique Channel, the islands lie about 290 km (about 180 mi) from Mozambique and about 320 km (about 200 mi) from Madagascar. Comoros has been a self-governing state since 1975 when three of the four islands of the Comoros archipelago broke away from French rule. The three islands are Njazidja (also called Grande Comore), Nzwani (Anjouan) and Mwali (Moheli). The capital city, Moroni, is located on Njazidja. Comoros claims sovereignty over the fourth island, Mayotte (also known as Mahore), but Mayotte is still a dependency of France with the status of a territorial collectivity. Islam is the state religion of Comoros; the country is officially called the Republique Federale Islamique des Comores (Federal Islamic Republic of the Comoros).

deeper links ::

Article key phrases:

Mwali, Grande Comore, Anjouan, Mahore, Moheli, Comores, Mozambique Channel, French rule, group of islands, Moroni, Madagascar, capital city, independent state, Indian Ocean, Mayotte, country, status


Search within this web site: