Search within this web site:

you are here ::

Population, Political Divisions and Principal Cities

Bouafle, Gagnoa, Dimbokro, Bouake, Daloa

Cote d’Ivoire is divided into 49 departments, each administered by a centrally appointed prefect and an elected council. The main cities are Abidjan, with a population (1996 estimate, greater city) of 2.9 million, and Bouake (1988, 329,850), an important administrative and commercial center. Other urban centers include Daloa (121,842); Gagnoa, a marketing town; and Man. Yamoussoukro (1990 estimate, 120,000), between Bouafle and Dimbokro, was designated the new national capital in 1983, but many government offices have remained in Abidjan.

Article key phrases:

Bouafle, Gagnoa, Dimbokro, Bouake, Daloa, Yamoussoukro, greater city, elected council, Abidjan, commercial center, government offices, main cities, urban centers, population, estimate, departments


Search within this web site: