Search within this web site:

you are here ::

Egypt, Land and Resources

Farafra, Qattara Depression, Mount Catherine, Great Sand Sea, Nubian Desert

Egypt is bounded on the north by the Mediterranean Sea; on the east by the Gaza Strip, Israel, and the Red Sea; on the south by Sudan; and on the west by Libya. The country has a maximum length from north to south of 1,105 km (687 mi) and a maximum width, near the southern border, of 1,129 km (702 mi). It has a total area of 997,739 sq km (385,229 sq mi).

Less than one-tenth of the land area of Egypt is settled or under cultivation. This territory consists of the valley and delta of the Nile, a number of desert oases, and land along the Suez Canal, which connects the Mediterranean with the Gulf of Suez, an arm of the Red Sea. More than 90 percent of the country consists of desert areas, including the Libyan Desert (also known as the Western Desert) in the west, a part of the Sahara, and the Arabian Desert (also called the Eastern Desert), which borders the Red Sea and the Gulf of Suez, in the east. The Libyan Desert includes a vast sandy expanse called the Great Sand Sea. Located there are several depressions with elevations below sea level, including the Qattara Depression, which has an area of about 18,000 sq km (about 7,000 sq mi) and reaches a depth of 133 m (436 ft) below sea level. Also found in the Libyan Desert are the oases of Siwa, Ba?riyah, Farafra, Dakhla, and Kharijah. Much of the Arabian Desert occupies a plateau that rises gradually east from the Nile Valley to elevations of about 600 m (about 2,000 ft) in the east and is broken along the Red Sea coast by jagged peaks as high as 2,100 m (7,000 ft) above sea level. In the extreme south, along the border with Sudan, is the Nubian Desert, an extensive region of rocky and sandy plains and dunes. The Sinai Peninsula consists of sandy desert in the north and rugged mountains in the south, with summits looming more than 2,100 m (7,000 ft) above the Red Sea. Mount Catherine (Jabal Katrinah) (2,637 m/8,652 ft), the highest elevation in Egypt, is on the Sinai Peninsula, as is Mount Sinai (Jabal Musa), where, according to the Hebrew Bible, Moses received the Ten Commandments.

The Nile enters Egypt from Sudan and flows north for 1,545 km (960 mi) to the Mediterranean Sea. For its entire length from the southern border to Cairo, the Nile flows through a narrow valley lined by cliffs. Lake Nasser, a huge reservoir formed by the Aswan High Dam, extends south across the Sudan border. The lake is 480 km (300 mi) long and is 16 km (10 mi) across at its widest point. Most of the lake lies in Egypt. South of a point near the town of Idfu, the Nile Valley is rarely more than 3 km (2 mi) wide. From Idfu to Cairo, the valley averages 23 km (14 mi) in width, with most of the arable portion on the western side. In the vicinity of Cairo the valley merges with the delta, a fan-shaped plain, the perimeter of which occupies about 250 km (about 155 mi) of the Mediterranean coastline. Silt deposited by the Rosetta, Damietta, and other distributaries has made the delta the most fertile region in the country. However, the Aswan High Dam has reduced the flow of the Nile, causing the salty waters of the Mediterranean to erode land along the coast near the Nile. A series of four shallow, brackish lakes extends along the seaward extremity of the delta. Another larger lake, Birkat Qarun, is situated inland in the desert north of the town of Al Fayyum. Geographically and traditionally, the land along the Nile is divided into two regions, Lower Egypt and Upper Egypt, the former consisting of the delta area and the latter comprising the valley south of Cairo.

Although Egypt has 2,450 km (1,520 mi) of coastline, two-thirds of which are on the Red Sea, indentations suitable as harbors are confined to the delta. The Isthmus of Suez, which connects the Sinai Peninsula with the African mainland, is traversed from the Mediterranean to the Gulf of Suez by the Suez Canal.

deeper links ::

Article key phrases:

Farafra, Qattara Depression, Mount Catherine, Great Sand Sea, Nubian Desert, Libyan Desert, Aswan High Dam, Isthmus of Suez, Sudan border, Lake Nasser, sandy desert, Dakhla, Arabian Desert, Damietta, Eastern Desert, jagged peaks, Gulf of Suez, sandy plains, Lower Egypt, Sinai Peninsula, southern border, narrow valley, extreme south, delta area, Western Desert, Suez Canal, Upper Egypt, Nile Valley, Hebrew Bible, Rosetta, Gaza Strip, highest elevation, Commandments, Red Sea, Mediterranean Sea, desert areas, Libya, widest point, dunes, Moses, cliffs, Sahara, sea level, harbors, Sudan, plateau, perimeter, delta, Silt, summits, cultivation, coastline, Egypt, desert, elevations, Mediterranean, Israel, border, depressions, thirds, territory, regions, maximum width, arm, total area, percent, depth, series, land, north, west, east, country, maximum length, width


Search within this web site: