Search within this web site:

you are here ::

Guinea, Land and Resources

Guinea has four major topographic regions. Lower Guinea, the coastal plain, extends about 50 km (about 30 mi) inland from the shoreline, which is about 275 km (about 170 mi) in length. Beyond the coastal plain is middle Guinea, the Fouta Djallon (Futa Jallon), a mountainous plateau region with an average elevation of about 910 m (about 3,000 ft). Upper Guinea is gently undulating savanna country broken by occasional rocky outcrops with an average elevation of 300 m (1,000 ft). In the extreme southeast are forested highlands. Found here, in the Nimba Range, is the highest point in the country (1,752 m/5,748 ft).

The principal rivers are the Bafing (the upper course of the Senegal) and the Gambia, both of which rise in the mountains of the Fouta Djallon and flow northeast over the country’s borders. Many smaller rivers rise in the Fouta Djallon and descend to the coastal plain where they divide into many branches. The Niger and its important tributary, the Milo River, originate in the forested Guinea highlands.

deeper links ::

Search within this web site: