Search within this web site:

you are here ::

History, Independent Namibia

Namibian independence, principal seaport, Namibia's, SWAPO, Nujoma

Open elections for a 72-member Constituent Assembly were held under UN supervision in November 1989, with SWAPO emerging as the majority party. In 1990 the Constituent Assembly approved a new constitution and became the National Assembly; Nujoma was elected to serve as the country’s first president; and Namibia attained independence. Until February 1994 an enclave containing the principal seaport, Walvis Bay, was administered by South Africa. In 1994 the first elections following Namibian independence were held. Nujoma was reelected, and SWAPO won 53 out of 72 seats in the National Assembly. The opposition Democratic Turnhalle Alliance (DTA) of Namibia obtained 15 seats.

Nujoma’s administration fostered a healthy, growing economy over the course of the 1990s and promoted respect for human rights. Nujoma won a third presidential term in Namibia's December 1999 elections, defeating former SWAPO member Ben Ulenga of the Congress of Democrats (COD). SWAPO dominated the concurrent elections to the National Assembly, winning 55 seats. The COD and DTA each won 7 seats, with the remainder divided among smaller parties.

Article key phrases:

Namibian independence, principal seaport, Namibia's, SWAPO, Nujoma, presidential term, Walvis Bay, majority party, National Assembly, new constitution, DTA, growing economy, COD, human rights, enclave, seats, president, supervision, South Africa, respect, course, remainder


Search within this web site: