Search within this web site:

you are here ::

Togo, Government

Togo was governed as a single-party republic from 1969 until 1991; that year, the president allowed opposition parties to form, and in 1992 a new constitution officially established the country as a multiparty democracy.

The 1992 constitution vests executive power in a president who is popularly elected to a five-year term. Legislative power is exercised by the unicameral (single-chamber) National Assembly; its 81 members serve five-year terms. The prime minister is appointed by the president from among the majority in the legislature.

deeper links ::

Search within this web site: