Search within this web site:

you are here ::

Land and Resources, Natural Regions

major river, sea level, Sahara, plateau, plains

Tunisia may be divided, from north to south, into four main topographic regions. In the north, low-lying spurs of the Maritime Atlas Mountains traverse the country in a southwestern to northeastern direction. Peaks range in elevation from about 610 to 1,520 m (about 2,000 to 5,000 ft). Fertile valleys and plains are interspersed among the mountains of this region. The country’s only major river, the Majardah, crosses the region from west to east, emptying into the Gulf of Tunis. To the south the mountains give way to a plateau that averages about 610 m (about 2,000 ft) in elevation. Farther south, the plateau descends gradually to a chain of low-lying salt lakes, known as shatts, or chotts, which extend east to west across the country. Several of these lakes lie below sea level. On the south the shatts adjoin the Sahara, which constitutes about 40 percent of Tunisia’s land area.

Article key phrases:

major river, sea level, Sahara, plateau, plains, elevation, west, south, way


Search within this web site: