Search within this web site:

you are here ::

Government, Political Parties

breakaway party, ZAPU, Marxist party, legislative elections, majority rule

Zimbabwe’s dominant political party is the Zimbabwe African National Union-Patriotic Front (ZANU-PF). ZANU-PF began as the Zimbabwe African National Union (ZANU), which was founded in 1963 as a Marxist party seeking majority rule in Zimbabwe. The military wings of both ZANU and the rival nationalist party Zimbabwe African People’s Union (ZAPU) merged after 1976 as the Popular Front (PF), and after independence in 1980, ZANU was known as ZANU-PF. ZANU-PF and ZAPU merged in 1988. In the 1990s ZANU-PF moved away from Marxism. In June 2000 legislative elections, the ZANU-PF won 62 of the 120 elected seats in the House of Assembly. The opposition party Movement for Democratic Change (MDC) won 57, and the conservative Zimbabwe African National Union-Ndonga (ZANU-Ndonga), founded by ZANU cofounder Ndabaningi Sithole, won 1 seat. The Zimbabwe Unity Movement (ZUM) is a breakaway party from ZANU-PF. The colonial Rhodesian Front Party, which ruled Rhodesia from 1963 until the creation of Zimbabwe, survives under the title of the Conservative Alliance of Zimbabwe, but it has little political influence.

Article key phrases:

breakaway party, ZAPU, Marxist party, legislative elections, majority rule, House of Assembly, Marxism, ZUM, MDC, political influence, independence, title


Search within this web site: