Search within this web site:

you are here ::

People and Society, Ethnic Groups and Languages

Tavara, Manyika, European descent, white population, Zulu

Zimbabwe’s population is divided into two major linguistic and ethnic groups: the Shona and the Ndebele. Numerous Shona subgroups, such as the Tavara, Korekore, and Manyika, are traditionally distinguished by region and dialect of Shona. Altogether, the Shona constitute 71 percent of the population. The Ndebele minority, representing 16 percent of the population, speak a language related to Zulu and are concentrated in the southwest. There are small but politically and economically significant minorities of people of Asian and European descent, as well as immigrants from nearby African countries, principally Mozambique. English is the official language of Zimbabwe and is used in government and education. Some of the white population are of Afrikaner origin and speak Afrikaans.

Article key phrases:

Tavara, Manyika, European descent, white population, Zulu, African countries, Afrikaans, immigrants, Mozambique, ethnic groups, percent, government, region, education, English


Search within this web site: