Search within this web site:

you are here ::

Government, Local Government

Barisal, Rajshahi, Khulna, Chittagong, Dhaka

For administrative purposes, Bangladesh is divided into six divisions—Barisal, Chittagong, Dhaka, Khulna, Rajshahi, and Sylhet. Each division includes a number of districts, or zillas, which are the largest and most important units of local government in the country. The country’s 64 zillas are comprised of upazillas (subdistricts), which in turn are made up of unions, or groups of villages with popularly elected councils.

Article key phrases:

Barisal, Rajshahi, Khulna, Chittagong, Dhaka, number of districts, Bangladesh, unions, divisions, turn


Search within this web site: