Search within this web site:

you are here ::

Government, Local Government

NWFP, Islamabad Capital Territory, Azad Kashmir, military coup, FANA

According to the constitution, Pakistan is a federation. The country is divided into four autonomous (self-governing) provinces; two federally administered areas; and the Islamabad Capital Territory, which consists of the capital city of Islamabad.

The four provinces are Baluchistan, the North-West Frontier Province (NWFP), Punjab, and Sind. The provinces are headed by governors appointed by the president. Under the constitution, each province has a directly elected provincial assembly headed by a chief minister. However, the provincial assemblies were suspended following the 1999 military coup.

The Islamabad Capital Territory, the Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA), and the Federally Administered Northern Areas (FANA) are under the jurisdiction of the federal government. In the FATA, however, tribal leaders manage most internal affairs. Azad (Free) Kashmir has a separate and autonomous government but maintains strong ties to Pakistan. Control of the territory included within FANA and Azad Kashmir is a matter of dispute between Pakistan and India.

Article key phrases:

NWFP, Islamabad Capital Territory, Azad Kashmir, military coup, FANA, North-West Frontier Province, provincial assembly, strong ties, Tribal Areas, FATA, Baluchistan, Northern Areas, Punjab, Sind, internal affairs, chief minister, governors, provinces, Pakistan, constitution, federal government, jurisdiction, federation, India, president, Control, country


Search within this web site: