Search within this web site:

you are here ::

Land and Resources, Natural Regions

Visayan Islands, Sulu Archipelago, largest islands, Masbate, Palawan

The Philippines can be divided into three geographic areas: the northern islands of Luzon and Mindoro, the central islands of the Visayan Islands (Visayas) and Palawan, and the southern islands of Mindanao and the Sulu Archipelago. The national borders of the Philippines form a rough triangle. The small Batan Islands north of Luzon form the apex of the triangle. The islands of Palawan, the Sulu Archipelago, and Mindanao (from west to east) form the base of the triangle.

Luzon and Mindanao are the two largest islands, anchoring the archipelago in the north and south. Luzon has an area of 104,700 sq km (40,400 sq mi) and Mindanao has an area of 94,630 sq km (36,540 sq mi). Only nine other islands have an area of more than 2,600 sq km (1,000 sq mi) each: Samar, Negros, Palawan, Panay, Mindoro, Leyte, Cebu, Bohol, and Masbate. The centrally located Visayan Islands include all of these islands except Mindoro and Palawan.

deeper links ::

Article key phrases:

Visayan Islands, Sulu Archipelago, largest islands, Masbate, Palawan, Mindoro, Panay, Samar, Leyte, archipelago, national borders, Visayas, Negros, Bohol, Mindanao, Cebu, Luzon, apex, geographic areas, Philippines, base, east, area


Search within this web site: