search this website ::

you are here ::

Asia, South Korea

Korea, South, officially known as the Republic of Korea, country in northeastern Asia that occupies the southern portion of the Korea Peninsula. South Korea is bounded on the north by North Korea; on the east by the East Sea (Sea of Japan); on the southeast and south by the Korea Strait, which separates it from Japan; and on the west by the Yellow Sea. It has a total area of 99,268 sq km (38,328 sq mi), including numerous offshore islands in the south and west, the largest of which is Cheju (area, 1,845 sq km/712 sq mi). The state of South Korea was established in 1948 following the post-World War II partitioning of the peninsula between the occupying forces of the United States in the south and the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) in the north. South Korea rose from devastation in the 1950s—the result of war with North Korea—to become one of the world's largest economies in the 1990s. The capital and largest city of South Korea is Seoul.

[ad >] Are you lazy student? The smallest wireless audio headset will help you out! 6mm diameter (0.24 inch) - it hides inside ear completely and has no wires. Go to to read about it. [< ad]

deeper links ::

search this website ::

site map privacy legal