Search within this web site:

you are here ::

Government, Local Government

Dushanbe, provinces, chairperson, towns, capital

For purposes of local government, Tajikistan is divided into the Khujand Province, the Khatlon Province, and the Gorno-Badakhshan Autonomous Province. These three regions are subdivided into districts and towns. The capital, Dushanbe, is administratively independent of the three provinces. The provinces are administered by local assemblies, whose members are elected to five-year terms. The president appoints a chairperson to head each assembly.

Article key phrases:

Dushanbe, provinces, chairperson, towns, capital, regions, districts, Tajikistan, members


Search within this web site: