Search within this web site:

you are here ::

Government, Local Government

mass association, communes, legislative powers, Fatherland, central government

For administrative purposes, Vietnam is divided into 57 provinces and four cities directly under the central government. The provinces are further divided into districts and then villages or communes. At each level, voters elect people’s councils with legislative powers. These councils in turn elect a people’s committee from among their members to serve as an executive body. In some respects, people’s councils and people’s committees resemble local governments in Western democracies. They have the right to question decisions taken by other governmental organs at their level, but their decisions and actions are subject to review by higher organs of government power. Moreover, decisions by local government organs are normally undertaken in accordance with the instructions of Communist Party committees at that level, although party influence has declined somewhat since the inception of doi moi in the mid-1980s. Party directives are circulated at the local level through the Fatherland Front, a mass association with branch offices at all administrative levels and among various interest groups in the country.

Article key phrases:

mass association, communes, legislative powers, Fatherland, central government, provinces, villages, voters, Vietnam, branch offices, local governments, districts, respects, local level, cities, accordance, decisions, country, groups, review, actions, right, members, turn


Search within this web site: