Web site navigation : home > Australia > Government

Search this website ::



- Executive -

- Legislature -

- Political Parties -

- Local Government -

- Health and Welfare -

- Judiciary -

- Defence -

⇑ links

Australia's system of government is a federal parliamentary democracy. The constitution of Australia, which became effective in 1901, is based on British parliamentary traditions, and includes elements of the United States system. Australia is a member of the Commonwealth of Nations that chooses to recognize the British monarch as its own sovereign and, as such, its head of state. The head of government is the Australian prime minister, who is responsible to the Australian parliament. All powers not delegated to the federal government are entrusted to the states. Australia is a founding member of the United Nations (UN).

Search this website ::