Search within this web site:

you are here ::

Land and Resources, Natural Regions

Mount Meron, Lake Tiberias, Gulf of Aqaba, southern Israel, Sea of Galilee

There are five major geographical regions of Israel. The mountainous Galilee region dominates the northern section of Israel, extending east 40 km (25 mi) from a narrow coastal plain across to the Sea of Galilee (also called Lake Tiberias). Mount Meron (1,208 m/3,963 ft) in central Galilee is the highest point in Israel. South of Galilee lies the Plain of Esdraelon, a densely populated and productive agricultural region 55 km (35 mi) long and 25 km (15 mi) wide. The plain runs across Israel from the vicinity of Haifa on the Mediterranean coast to the Jordan River, which forms Israelís eastern border. The coastal plains, containing most of Israelís large cities, industry, and commerce, extend 195 km (120 mi) along the Mediterranean from just north of Haifa to Gaza. This region ranges in width from less than 1 km (0.6 mi) to 30 km (20 mi). The Judean and Samarian hills run north and south throughout most of Israel. The Negev is a triangular desert region in southern Israel extending north from the Gulf of Aqaba to a line connecting the southern end of the Dead Sea and the Mediterranean, passing to the north of the city of Beersheba.

Article key phrases:

Mount Meron, Lake Tiberias, Gulf of Aqaba, southern Israel, Sea of Galilee, coastal plains, Jordan River, Judean, Negev, Dead Sea, Mediterranean coast, Gaza, highest point, commerce, southern end, line, width, industry


Search within this web site: