Search within this web site:

you are here ::

History, British North America: 1763-1841

Royal Proclamation, western Louisiana, Treaty of Paris, New France, western land

By the Treaty of Paris in 1763, New France with its 65,000 settlers (except western Louisiana) was ceded to Britain. At that point, what is now Canada comprised the British colonies of Quebec, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland, and Rupertís Land. Quebec was the new name for the colony of Canada, which had reached from Labrador to Missouri but was now reduced to the lower St. Lawrence valley. Nova Scotia comprised all of what had been Acadia and Ile Royale, and Newfoundland included Labrador. Rupertís Land, which was the name for the Hudson Bay drainage area, continued to be a monopoly of the HBC.

King George III of Britain sought to pacify Pontiacís allies with his Royal Proclamation of 1763, which recognized indigenous sovereignty with certain qualifications. It committed Britain to negotiating treaties with the indigenous peoples to acquire land before allowing settlers to move in. The land between the Appalachian Mountains and the Mississippi River, including Canada outside the lower St. Lawrence valley, was set aside as a reserve, the so-called Lands Reserved for the Indians. This angered people in the 13 colonies, who felt they were being deprived of rights to western land that had been given or implied in their original colonial charters.

deeper links ::

Article key phrases:

Royal Proclamation, western Louisiana, Treaty of Paris, New France, western land, Appalachian Mountains, Mississippi River, Acadia, monopoly, HBC, King George, settlers, indigenous peoples, colonies, Labrador, Nova Scotia, Indians, Newfoundland, treaties, Missouri, Britain, reserve, Canada, rights


Search within this web site: