Search within this web site:

you are here ::

Regional Breakdowns, The Inland South

transition zone, slave labor, primary source of income, Arkansas, Mississippi

The Inland South is a transition zone between the Southeastern Coast and the Heartland. It occupies much of the coastal plain surrounding the southern sections of the Appalachians and Ozarks. Portions of Texas, Louisiana, Arkansas, Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Virginia are included.

The Inland South has certain economic, demographic, and political characteristics that bestow regional uniqueness. The economy of the region was originally based on slave labor and on the large-scale production of crops, particularly cotton. In most parts of the region, manufacturing replaced agriculture as the primary source of income during the second half of the 20th century. As a legacy of slavery, both rural and urban areas have a mix of black and white populations. The region remains for the most part politically conservative. This combination of black and white populations and conservative political values helps to distinguish the Inland South as a distinctive region.

deeper links ::

Article key phrases:

transition zone, slave labor, primary source of income, Arkansas, Mississippi, demographic, Alabama, South Carolina, cotton, Louisiana, North Carolina, Tennessee, Georgia, urban areas, century, half, economy, agriculture, parts, manufacturing


Search within this web site: