Search within this web site:

you are here ::

Countries Quest, Oceania

largest islands, Irian Jaya, islets, North Island, Pacific Islands

Pacific Islands or Oceania, the more than 25,000 islands and islets of 25 nations and territories spread over the western and central Pacific Ocean. Although the Pacific Islands are scattered across millions of square kilometers, their total land area is just 1,261,456 sq km (487,051 sq mi)—slightly larger than South Africa, slightly smaller than Peru, and four-fifths the size of Alaska. The islands of New Guinea, New Zealand, and Hawaii constitute 93 percent of the land area, while the remaining thousands of islands have a total land area of 89,339 sq km (34,494 sq mi), slightly less than the American state of Indiana. New Guinea, shared by the Indonesian province of Papua (formerly Irian Jaya) and the nation of Papua New Guinea, is the second largest island in the world, after Greenland. New Zealand’s South Island and North Island, Oceania’s next largest islands, are the world’s 12th and 14th largest islands, respectively.

deeper links ::

Article key phrases:

largest islands, Irian Jaya, fifths, size of Alaska, islets, Greenland, North Island, Pacific Islands, Hawaii, Peru, nations, percent, territories, South Africa


Search within this web site: