Search within this web site:

you are here ::

Oceania, Federated States of Micronesia

Pohnpei Island, Kolonia, Palikir, Republic of Palau, Chuuk

Micronesia, Federated States of, self-governing island country in free association with the United States, located in the western Pacific Ocean, forming, with the Republic of Palau, the Caroline Islands. The Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) includes four states. From east to west they are Kosrae, Pohnpei (formerly Ponape), Chuuk (formerly Truk), and Yap. The FSM is north of the equator, located more than 4,000 km (2,500 mi) southwest of Honolulu, Hawaii. Palikir, on Pohnpei Island, is the capital. The largest town is Kolonia, also on Pohnpei. The FSM, along with Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, the Marshall Islands, Kiribati, and Nauru, is part of Micronesia, one of the three major divisions of Oceania.

deeper links ::

Article key phrases:

Pohnpei Island, Kolonia, Palikir, Republic of Palau, Chuuk, Caroline Islands, Kosrae, Ponape, free association, Yap, western Pacific Ocean, equator, Honolulu, FSM, largest town, Federated States of Micronesia, Truk, Hawaii, Guam, Nauru, Kiribati, capital, Marshall Islands, Northern Mariana Islands, United States, east


Search within this web site: