search this website ::

you are here ::

Oceania, Tokelau

Tokelau, overseas territory of New Zealand, consisting of the Tokelau Islands, in the southwestern Pacific Ocean. It comprises three coral atolls—Atafu, Fakaofo, and Nukunonu—and has a total area of 10 sq km (4 sq mi). Copra and woven handicrafts are the principal exports. The islands were first visited by the British in 1765 and became a British protectorate in 1877. Administration of the islands was transferred to New Zealand in 1926, and in 1948 they were included within its territorial boundaries. In 1976 the territory's name was officially changed from Tokelau Islands to Tokelau. Population 1,577 (1991).

[ad >] Are you lazy student? The smallest wireless audio headset will help you out! 6mm diameter (0.24 inch) - it hides inside ear completely and has no wires. Go to to read about it. [< ad]


search this website ::

site map privacy legal