Search within this web site:

you are here ::

South America, Argentina

largest South American country, Isla Grande, Argentine Republic, los Estados, Tierra

Argentina or Argentine Republic, federal republic in southern South America, bounded on the north by Bolivia and Paraguay; on the east by Brazil, Uruguay, and the Atlantic Ocean; on the south by the Atlantic Ocean and Chile; and on the west by Chile. The country occupies most of the southern portion of the continent of South America and is somewhat triangular in shape, with the base in the north and the apex at Punta Dungeness, the southeastern extremity of the continental mainland. The length of Argentina in a northern to southern direction is about 3,330 km (about 2,070 mi); its extreme width is about 1,384 km (about 860 mi). The country includes the Tierra del Fuego territory, which comprises the eastern half of the Isla Grande de Tierra del Fuego and a number of adjacent islands to the east, including Isla de los Estados. The area of Argentina is 2,780,400 sq km (1,073,518 sq mi); it is the second largest South American country, Brazil ranking first in area. Argentina, however, claims a total of 2,808,602 sq km (1,084,120 sq mi), including the Falkland Islands, or Islas Malvinas, and other sparsely settled southern Atlantic islands, as well as part of Antarctica. The Argentine coastline measures about 4,990 km (about 3,100 mi) in length. The capital and largest city is Buenos Aires.

deeper links ::

Article key phrases:

largest South American country, Isla Grande, Argentine Republic, los Estados, Tierra, federal republic, Buenos Aires, Antarctica, Islas Malvinas, southern portion, apex, Atlantic Ocean, largest city, Uruguay, Bolivia, Chile, Paraguay, capital, Falkland Islands, Brazil, shape, base, west, north, total


Search within this web site: