Search within this web site:

you are here ::

Population, Political Divisions

Chubut, Entre Rios, Catamarca, Rio Negro, Jujuy

Argentina comprises 23 provinces; the self-governing Distrito Federal (Federal District), which consists of the city of Buenos Aires and several suburbs; the Argentine-claimed sector of Antarctica; and several South Atlantic islands.

The provinces are grouped into five major areas: the Atlantic Coastal, or Littoral, provinces, comprising Buenos Aires (excluding the city of Buenos Aires), Chaco, Corrientes, Entre Rios, Formosa, Misiones, and Santa Fe; the Northern provinces, comprising Jujuy, Salta, Santiago del Estero, and Tucuman; the Central provinces, comprising Cordoba, La Pampa, and San Luis; the provinces of the Andes, or Andina, comprising San Fernando del Valle de Catamarca, La Rioja, Mendoza, Neuquen, and San Juan; and the Patagonian provinces, comprising Chubut, Rio Negro, Santa Cruz, and Tierra del Fuego.

A number of nations, including the United States, do not recognize the Argentine claim to the vast sector of Antarctica, between longitude 25 West and 74 West, and to a number of South Atlantic islands.

Article key phrases:

Chubut, Entre Rios, Catamarca, Rio Negro, Jujuy, Corrientes, Misiones, South Atlantic islands, Northern provinces, Andina, Salta, Chaco, Littoral, Formosa, Mendoza, San Luis, Santa Cruz, Estero, Santa Fe, Argentine, longitude, San Fernando, Federal District, provinces, city of Buenos Aires, San Juan, suburbs, United States, Valle


Search within this web site: