Search within this web site:

you are here ::

History, Independence

Battle of Ayacucho, Chuquisaca, Spanish Empire, Spanish forces, Sucre

Bolivia was one of the first countries in the Spanish Empire to attempt a break from Spain, but it was one of the last to succeed. The Spanish suppressed the first critical rebellion at Chuquisaca in May 1809. Fifteen years later a revolutionary army under General Antonio Jose de Sucre liberated Bolivia after defeating Spanish forces at the Battle of Ayacucho in Peru on December 9, 1824. Bolivia declared its independence from Spain on August 6, 1825, and took the name Bolivia in honor of South American independence leader Simon Bolivar. In 1826 a congress at Chuquisaca adopted a constitution drafted by Bolivar. It vested supreme authority in a president, who was chosen for a life term.

From the beginning of its national existence, Bolivia was plunged into a state of nearly chronic revolution and civil war. The first president, General Antonio Jose de Sucre, was expelled from the country after holding office for only two years. During the next half century, interludes of political tranquility were brief and infrequent. Between 1836 and 1839 Bolivia was in a confederation with Peru, but a Chilean invasion brought an effective end to it, increasing the turbulence. Short wars and disputes with both Peru and Chile followed.

deeper links ::

Article key phrases:

Battle of Ayacucho, Chuquisaca, Spanish Empire, Spanish forces, Sucre, life term, supreme authority, revolutionary army, confederation, civil war, Peru, constitution, Bolivia, half century, Spain, congress, disputes, break, beginning, state, president, countries, office, country, years


Search within this web site: