Search within this web site:

you are here ::

History, Spanish Rule

Gonzalo Pizarro, Bogota, judicial district, rebellion, army

The Spanish first landed on the coast of what is now Ecuador in 1526, led by Bartolome Ruiz. Spanish conquistadores under Francisco Pizarro invaded the country in 1532 and two years later were in control of the area. Pizarro, acting in the name of the Spanish crown, appointed his brother Gonzalo governor of Quito in 1540. A short time later Francisco Pizarro was assassinated, and Gonzalo Pizarro led a rebellion against Spain. His independent rule lasted until 1548, when forces of the Crown defeated his army at Jaquijaguana and he was executed.

Colonial Ecuador was at first a territory directly under the rule of the Viceroyalty of Peru, one of the two major administrative divisions of 16th-century Spanish America. In 1563 Quito, as Ecuador was then called, became a presidency, or a judicial district of the viceroyalty. From 1717 to 1723 the Quito presidency was under the authority of the Viceroyalty of New Granada in Bogota, but it was then returned to the authority of the viceroy of Peru until 1739, when it reverted to New Granada.

Article key phrases:

Gonzalo Pizarro, Bogota, judicial district, rebellion, army, Ecuador, rule, forces, territory, Spain, coast, authority, control, area, country, years


Search within this web site: