Search within this web site:

you are here ::

Guyana, Land and Resources

Mount Roraima, Kaieteur Falls, dense forest area, Essequibo, Berbice

Guyana can be divided into three major geographical regions. A belt of alluvial soil, varying in width from about 8 to 65 km (about 5 to 40 mi) and mostly below sea level, extends along the coast and is protected by a system of dams and dikes. To the south lies the dense forest area that makes up about four-fifths of the country. The forests extend into an interior highland region with a maximum elevation, atop Mount Roraima, of 2,875 m (9,432 ft). Some of the rivers form spectacular waterfalls, notably Kaieteur Falls (226 m/741 ft high), on the Potaro River, one of the highest single-drop waterfalls in the world. Beyond the forest lies a region of savanna. Several important rivers—the Essequibo, Demerara, Courantyne (Dutch, Corantijn), and Berbice—cross the country in a southern to northern direction. The rivers are navigable by oceangoing freighters only to about 100 to 160 km (about 60 to 100 mi) from the sea; farther inland, navigation is not possible because of rapids and falls.

deeper links ::

Article key phrases:

Mount Roraima, Kaieteur Falls, dense forest area, Essequibo, Berbice, Demerara, important rivers, fifths, dikes, rapids, sea level, forests, Guyana, Dutch, coast, ft high, south, world, width, country, navigation


Search within this web site: